Don't leave your boat at home! New Hampshire offers more than 400 public-access sites where you can launch a boat or fish from shore. With 1,300 ponds and lakes all across New Hampshire, you can find the perfect natural pool for everything from waterskiing to canoeing and kayaking to escaping the world. Marinas on our larger lakes rent a variety of boats from Jet Skis to pontoon boats. You can also rent boats at many of our state parks.
If you'd rather go boating without captaining your own vessel, you’ll find cruises in New Hampshire to suit every interest and budget. From deep-sea fishing charters to island sightseeing vessels, from whale-watch ships to throwback paddle wheelers, you'll see uninterrupted scenery and spy wildlife underwater, overhead, and ashore.
New Hampshire requires those who operate motorboats over 25 horsepower to be at least 16 years old and to hold a boating education certificate. (NASBLA-approved boating certificates issued by other states are acceptable.)
On July 1, 2019, a law (RSA 487:43) went into effect requiring all motorboats that are registered outside of New Hampshire, and are operating on New Hampshire public waters, to display a New Hampshire aquatic invasive species decal from NHDES. You can purchase your out-of-state boater decal online here. Decals are $20, and expire on December 31 of the year of purchase.